24 hours of UX logo

Bringing local UX to a global audience

A grassroots UX extravaganza on
June 10th 2020

Ever wondered how UXers in Manila are thinking? Or what the hot topics are in Nairobi? Or what keeps experience designers up at night in Geneva? Now is your chance to listen in to the world!

We are local and independent UX event organizers from all corners of the world. We love bringing knowledge to our communities in face-to-face events, but are now forced into the virtual space.

So we decided to go all in! We joined forces to bring 24 hours of uninterrupted live online content to the global user experience community. We gathered all groups and speakers into one full-day session, so you just sign up once and lean back.

The 2020 event is now over - follow us on Linkedin for future events

Participating groups, cities & speakers

Double Keynote – Jeff Patton & Phil Balagtas

How UX really works / Future Design Thinking – brought to you by UX & Product Munich

1

Wellington, New Zealand

UX Wellington // Effects of Covid on UX community

2

Budapest, Hungary

User Experience Budapest

3

Brisbane, Australia

UX Brisbane // Brisbane’s design scene

4

Keynote – Jeff Gothelf

Forever employable

5

Manila, Philippines

UX Philippines // Conversational assistants in times of Covid

6

Beijing, China

UX Beijing // Remote work practices for designers

7

Bangkok, Thailand

UX Thailand // Why we need a kickoff for UX projects

8

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

IDF Malaysia // The Untold UX Stories from Developing Countries

9

Keynote – A.J. Wood

design, prototype, share

10

Nairobi, Kenya

UX Kitchen // UX for business strategy

11

Athens, Greece

Athens UX community // Measuring & quantifying UX

12

Geneva, Switzerland

Digital Strategy and UX meetup // Voice User Interfaces

13

Casablanca, Morocco, featuring Jake Knapp

Void Casablanca // Design Sprints

14

Keynote – Indi Young & Brian Sullivan

ask-me-anything session

15

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Más Mujeres UX Argentina // Social inclusion with UX

16

New York, USA

Service Design Network, New York Chapter // Designing the transition to post-COVID work spaces

17

Keynote – Susan Weinschenk

Designing for Behavior Change

18

Washington DC, USA

NoVA UX // Growing UX teams & designers fireside chat

19

Dallas, USA

Dallas User Experience Group // Designing for Timeless Needs – a futurist approach

20

Calgary, Canada

Calgary UX // The UX of e-commerce, shipping, and delivery

21

Las Vegas, USA

Las Vegas UX/UI // Customer Experience in Hospitality

22

San Francisco, USA

SFUXD

23

Seoul, South Korea

Design Spectrum // Small but strong – the UX design scene in Seoul

24

The 2020 event is now over - follow us on Linkedin for future events

Keynotes

Jeff Patton // How UX really works

05:00 UTC (01:00 EDT / 7:00 CET / 10:30 IST / 14:00 JST)  

The term UX is already established term, but as a profession still quite young. But how is UX different then it used to be? Still UX seems to be a very messy job. Jeff will share his experiences with UX for technology products and explain in a simple way: How UX really works.

Jeff Patton is the glue that connects good product management and strategy, lean user experience and agile delivery practices together. He has authored numerous articles, essays and, most recently, a book, “User Story Mapping.” An independent consultant with a unique teaching and speaking style, he uses hand-drawings and engaging story telling to share his passion for product design.

Jeff Patton

Phil Balagtas // Futures design thinking: Speculative design, strategic foresight, and other ways to respond to the future

05:00 UTC (01:00 EDT / 7:00 CET / 10:30 IST / 14:00 JST)  

As the craft of design continues to evolve and require more strategic thinking, we need new tools to address today’s greatest political, social, environmental, and cultural challenges. Speculative Designers and Strategic Foresight practitioners are banding together to bring these tools into the new landscape of design so that we can better assess the challenges of emerging technologies, climate change, and the implications we face with dynamically shifting political structures.
Phil will walk through a number of these examples spanning the history of Critical Design, Design Fiction, and trend analysis tools providing a platform for us to begin shaping these conversations for the business and governments that are defining our future.

Phil has been a practicing visual & interaction designer since 2001 and has experience designing across a variety of devices and platforms within non-profit, retail, advertising, and enterprise software organizations. He is currently an Experience Design Director at McKinsey & Company working with a variety of industries to transform and enhance their digital businesses and strategies.
He is also the founder and organizer of the Design Futures Initiative which organizes the international Speculative Futures meetups and the PRIMER conference in the US and Europe. An educator and futurist, his events bring together designers and futurists from all over the world to teach and share strategies for designing for the future and the ethical challenges around emerging technologies.

Phil Balagtas

Jeff Gothelf // Forever employable: how to ensure your career stays as agile as your work

09:00 UTC (05:00 EDT / 11:00 CET / 14:30 IST / 18:00 JST)  

In this fun and interactive presentation Jeff Gothelf will share content from his upcoming book, Forever Employable, where he applies the principles of continuous learning, improvement, experimentation and agility to professional development and career growth. Jeff will share his experience building his own consulting practice as well as provide tools and techniques to help you think through how to ensure that no matter what changes in your world, you are always confident about the next professional step. 

Jeff helps organizations build better products and executives build the cultures that build better products. He is the co-author of the award-winning book Lean UX and the Harvard Business Review Press book Sense & Respond. Starting off as a software designer, Jeff now works as a coach, consultant and keynote speaker helping companies bridge the gaps between business agility, digital transformation, product management and human-centred design. Most recently Jeff co-founded Sense & Respond Press, a publishing house for practical business books for busy executives. His upcoming book, Forever Employable, will be published in June 2020.

jeff gothelf

A.J. Wood // Design, Prototype, Share – Oh My!

14:00 UTC (10:00 EDT / 16:00 CET / 19:30 IST / 23:00 JST) 

Join A.J. Wood for a quick hit tour of Adobe XD. See the latest updates including coediting, components, voice support, as A.J. share his insights as a senior consultant with Adobe.

A.J. Wood is a Solutions Consultant for Adobe where he engages enterprise customers on the benefits of Adobe software. Prior to joining Adobe he was ranked the #1 Adobe Instructor worldwide more than once. He is best known for his educational YouTube series, “I Create Content.” 

Call him a creative generalist or digital artisan, A.J. talked so much about Adobe products, they had no choice but to hire him and put his big mouth to use. Dave Weinberg, a design leader, has said: “AJ has a smile that should be trademarked.”

AJ believes a large part of his success comes from understanding clients expectations, and quickly adapting to their needs. It’s not the technology A.J. demonstrates, but the ability to relate technology to the client’s experience that seems to make a lasting impression.

AJ Wood

Jake Knapp // ‘ask me anything’ session

18:00 UTC (14:00 EDT / 20:00 CET / 23:30 IST / 03:00 (11th) JST) 

Jake Knapp is the inventor of the Design Sprint and a New York Times bestselling author. Jake spent 10 years at Google and Google Ventures, where he created the Design Sprint process. He’s written two books, Sprint and Make Time, coached teams at places like Slack, LEGO, IDEO, and NASA on design strategy and time management, and has been a guest instructor at MIT and the Harvard Business School.

Previously, Jake co-founded Google Meet and helped build products like Gmail and Microsoft Encarta. He is currently among the world’s tallest designers.

Jake knapp

Indi Young // ‘ask me anything’ session

19:00 UTC (15:00 EDT / 21:00 CET / 00:30 (11th) IST / 04:00 (11th) JST) 

Indi is a researcher who coaches, writes, and teaches about inclusive product strategy. Her work is rooted in the problem space where the focus is on people, not users. Indi pioneered opportunity maps (mental model diagrams) and thinking styles to help teams truly pay attention to people, without letting cognitive bias and assumptions creep in.

In 2008, her book Mental Models, introducing the problem space research method, was published. Her second book, Practical Empathy, was released in 2015, and she narrated it for Audible in 2016. Her next book which will cover thinking styles is due out in 2021. She builds knowledge and community via a series of live online advanced courses about the importance of pushing the boundaries of your perspective.

She began her career as a software engineer, moved into interaction design, worked with early tablets, and was one of the founders of Adaptive Path, the pioneering UX agency responsible for knowledge sharing via many channels. You can follow her on Twitter and access many resources on Medium and her website.

Indi Young photo

Brian Sullivan // ‘ask-me-anything’ session

19:00 UTC (15:00 EDT / 21:00 CET / 00:30 (11th) IST / 04:00 (11th) JST) 

Brian Sullivan is an award-winning design strategist, user researcher, futurist, and college professor. He is the author of The Design Studio Method: Creative Problem Solving with UX Sketching. Brian is currently writing another book on user research and innovation with Cassini Nazir, MFA.

Brian is an internationally recognized industry speaker and a Keynote Author on Slideshare and LinkedIn. He has given talks in Iceland, Poland, India, Germany, UK, China, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the USA. At SxSW, Brian delivered the #1 talk called Design Like DaVinci. One design leader said, “It’s the best talk I have heard in a decade.”

Brian is an active community leader. He co-founded the Big Design Conference, which has over 1,500 attendees each year. Brian is the President of the UX Dallas meetup, which has over 4,000 members. He sits on the advisory boards for the UNT College of Design Board and the XD Leadership Alliance. Brian is an Executive Producer on the XD Podcast.

When he is not doing strategy workshops or teaching graduate students, Brian spends time with family, enjoys reading, hiking around Texas, and taking care of his cats (Max, Buddy, and Junior).

Brian Sullivan profile picture

Susan Weinschenk // Designing for behavior change

22:00 UTC (18:00 EDT / midnight CET / 07:00 (11th) JST  / 03:30 (11th) IST)

A lot of what UX is about is to influence and/or change human behavior. We want people to sign up, buy, donate, read, share… In this presentation and Q&A, Susan Weinschenk and ‘The Team W’ will discuss some of the latest research in brain- and behavioral science and how it could and should affect UX research and UX design decisions.

Susan Weinschenk has a Ph.D. in psychology, and is the Chief Behavioral Scientist and CEO at The Team W, and has been working in the field of design and UX since 1985. She has published five books on user experience design.

Susan Weinschenk potrait

Lead Sponsors

Associate Sponsors

Join us!

Would you like to contribute to this world-embracing event? Great! We are open to all kinds of assistance, so let us know how you want to help. Get in touch with Peter and Jesse.

Who is behind this? People like you! Humble UXers, grassroots event- and community organizers. Initiated by Switzerland-based Peter and Jesse, this event is built by all the groups and speakers listed above!

Photos of initiators Peter Horvath and Jesse anton
24 hours of UX logo

© 2020 – 24 hours of UX